Thank You! Gracias!

(Para español, baje la pagina hacia abajo)

Tomorrow, December 2nd marks the last day of my advocacy project as a 2011 DANR Youth Fellow. Being able to design and execute my own project where I would create my own blog and write about education for the last three months was an incredible experience for me. I had an opportunity to write about issues that mattered to me, and share them with all of you, my readers. I’m a bit sad that this project comes to an end, because I know that there is so much more work to do in our communities to promote education, reform and advocacy. But, I’m appreciative to have had an opportunity to do that even in a small way and share with so many others in the process.

In the course of three months, I’ve written twelve blogs where I discussed the value of education,  shared tips about how to be a better student and discussed ways we can all be advocates in our communities, among many other topics. My blog will continue to be up, and I hope that it can continue to serve as a resource for many and a site of inspiration to become part of a greater change in our communities. Keep yourselves informed of what is going on, and find ways to become involved. Remember that each and everyone can contribute and that together we can make sure our Latino children are successful. Even as my fellowship comes to a close, I will continue to be an advocate for education and I invite you to do the same.

Overall, this has been a great experience for me and I’m very grateful for it. I want to thank the Dominican American National Roundtable and its leadership for providing me with such an incredible experience. I especially want to thank DANR Youth President and Fellowship Director Amaris Guzmán and Elias Alcantara Fellowship Co-Director, for putting together this program which has truly been a highlight of my year, and for guiding me through my own project. In the same way I must also thank the 2011 DANR Youth Fellows Rafaela Zapata, Paola Martinez, Pricelis Perreaux, Genesis Aquino, Nallely Acosta Martinez, Emmanuel Hernandez and Nathaniel Taveras, I learned so much from every single one of you. I also want to thank everyone who helped me publicize this blog, especially Daniel Susana Garcia from Mi Bodega Online. And to all of you, thank you for reading this and supporting my project.

Mañana, Dos de Diciembre se cumple el último día de mi proyecto de DANR Youth Fellow. Poder diseñar y dirigir mi propio proyecto donde pude crear mi propio blog y escribir sobre la educación durante los ultimos tres meses fue una experiencia increíble para mí. Tuve la oportunidad de escribir sobre temas que me interesaban y compartir con todos ustedes, mis lectores. Estoy un poco triste que este proyecto llegue a su fin, porque sé que hay mucho trabajo por hacer en nuestras comunidades para promover la educación, la abogacia y la reforma. Sin embargo, estoy agredecida de haber tenido la oportunidad de hacerlo, aunque sea de tan pequeña escala y compartir con tantos otros en el proceso.

En el curso de tres meses, escribi doce blogs done discuti el valor de la educación, comparti consejos sobre cómo ser mejor estudiante y discuti las varios formas que podemos ser defensores de nuestra comunidades, entre muchos otros temas. Mi blog continuara a estar aqui, y espero que continue sirviendo como un recurso para muchos, y un lugar de inspiración para convertirse en parte de un cambio grande para nuestras comunidades. Manténganse informados de lo que está pasando, y encuentre maneras de participar. Recuerde que puede contribuir y que juntos todos podemos asegurarnos de que nuestros niños Latinos tengan éxito en su futuro.  Incluso aunque se termine mi fellowship, procedere a seguir siendo una defensora de la educación y los invito a hacer lo mismo.

Esto ha sido una gran experiencia para mí y estoy muy agredecida por ella. Quiero agradecer a la Mesa-Redonda Nacional Dominico-Americana y su liderazgo por proveerme una experiencia increíble. Especialmente queiro agradecer a la Presidente de la Juventud y Directora Amaris Guzmán y a Elias Alcantara Co-Director, por la elaboración de este programa que ha sido realmente lo más destacado del año para mi, y por guiarme a través de mi propio proyecto. De la misma manera también debo agradecer a los 2011 DANR Youth Fellows Rafaela Zapata, Paola Martinez, Pricelis Perreaux, Genesis Aquino, Nallely Acosta Martinez, Nathaniel Taveras, y Emmanuel Hernandez, he aprendido mucho de cada uno de ustedes. También quiero agradecer a todos los que me ayudaron a publizar mi blog, especialment a Daniel Susana Garcia de Mi Bodega Online. Y a todos ustedes gracias por leer y apoyar este proyecto.

Leave a Reply

